Home » Blog » Apex in March

Apex in March

February 27, 2022

Reading Time:
Word Count:

March is almost here and hopefully the end of colder weather. As the sun returns to the northern hemisphere, we look to brighter days ahead. We hope our readers are safe and finding ways to be positive as the year progresses.

We have an exciting lineup for March!

Issue 130

First up, we’re releasing Issue 130 on March 1st. With cover art by JR Slattum, original fiction by RJ Taylor, Devon Mihesuah, Risa Wolf, Spencer Nitkey, Russell Nichols, and Benjamin Blattberg, non-fiction by Milton J. Davis and Linda addison, and classic fiction from Molly Tanzer and Wole Talabi, this issue promises to be one of our best. Watch for our releases at www.apex-magazine.com and stay tuned for the podcasts!

Kristi DeMeester AMA

Our March Book of the Month is Everything That’s Underneath by Kristi DeMeester. On March 3 at 1pm EST (12pm central, 10am PST, 6pm UTC), we’ll host an AMA with the author on our Discord.

In Kristi DeMeester’s transformative dark fantasy collection, Everything That’s Underneath, the author explores the places most people avoid. A hole in an abandoned lot, an illness twisting your loved one into someone you don’t recognize, lust that pushes you further and further until no one can hear your cry for help. In these 18 stories, the characters cannot escape the evil that is haunting them. They must make a choice: accept it and become part of what terrifies them the most or allow it to consume them and live in fear forever.

Not on our Discord? Join our Patreon at www.patreon.com/apexbookcompany or subscribe at www.apex-magazine.com

Microfiction Contest

The microfiction theme for March is a night journey. Submissions are open until February 28, midnight central time.

Check out our January winner, “A Field Guide to Prehistoric Motherhood”, by Shelly Jones, here.

Patreon Exclusives

Also on our Patreon, we have an exciting lineup of exclusives for our Patrons from the Authors of Issue 130. We’ll host interviews, story insights, photos, and a writing workshop. Keep an eye on our Patreon! Not a Patron? Join us for as little as $2/month to get access to these exclusives and the magazine in your inbox!

Discord Happenings

As always, we have fun and community on our Discord: our monthly game ‘night’ on March 17th at 2pm Eastern, writing craft chat and sprints and reading recommendations, and lots of pets and places.

To add the Apex Events Calendar to your google calendar, follow this link: https://tinyurl.com/4c74rext