Apex in August

August 3, 2021

Reading Time:
Word Count:

We're heading into the end of summer and Apex has a lot in store! 

Of course, the biggest thing we have going on right now is our Kickstarter, which lasts through August 18th. We've already reached some amazing stretch goals—like original fiction by Gabino Iglesias, Bonnie Stufflebeam, Samit Basu, Lavie Tidhar, and Jennifer Marie Brissett--but there's so much more! We hope to fund for all of 2022, as well as fund a bonus issue featuring Asian and Pacific Islanders authors and artists with a special guest editor.

On Friday, August 6 at 8pm Eastern (7pm Central, 5pm Pacific, 12am UTC), Jason Sizemore, Lesley Conner, and Maurice Broaddus will be sitting in conversation with Beth Dawkins to discuss all things Apex! Email your questions to [email protected] They'll also be taking your questions live, streaming on both YouTube and Patreon.

Over on our lively Discord, we'll have a kaffeeklatsch with Jason and Lesley on August 11 at 1pm Eastern (12pm Central, 10am Pacific, 5pm UTC). These are a great way to get to know the team behind Apex Magazine, and they're always a lot of fun. All of our magazine subscribers and patrons have Discord access, so join us!

On the website, we'll have new fiction: "Survival, After" by Nicole J. LeBoeuf (available today, 8/3) and "What Sisters Take" by Kelly Sandoval (available 8/10). Later in the month, look forward to "The Fine Print" by Chinelo Onwualu (available 8/17) and "The Shadow We Cast Through Time" by Indrapramit Das (available 8/24). Rounding out Issue 124 are interviews from Andrea Johnson with Kelly Sandoval on August 12 and an interview from Russell Dickerson with cover artist Martina Boscolo available 8/31.

And as always, we'll have the microfiction contest at the end of the month. Stay tuned for the theme annoucement!

There are always exciting potatoes, er, happenings on the Discord as well!

That's August for Apex! Stay tuned for more exciting events next month!

To add the Apex Events Calendar to your google calendar, follow this link: https://tinyurl.com/4c74rext

 

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

0 Comments

Submit a Comment